Reed Valves, why did they stop using them?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodlandcammies

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Ok gents,
Ive got a question that is probably dumb, might have been answered before.
Reed Valves... Why did companies stop using them? Ive seen some older saws (Macs/Old Poulans etc) used them, my boat motors still use them (Carbon fiber reeds for the win!!!!!) but it seems like no one uses them on small engines anymore.. Is there a reason why?

outboards don't turn nearly as fast as chainsaws. also EPA has driven too many changes to count

Makes sense, didnt think there would be much of a difference emissions wise from the EPA's view point between reed and direct opening vacuum operation, but gubment, you never can tell.

I'm not an engineer or expert but had an outboard shop 15 years ago and everything today has become so specialized it's not even funny. I do know that the stihl km130 i have you add oil to gas and it has real engine valves is the best handheld pull start device I have ever seen or touched. Chainsaw designs keep changing but they are not necessarily getting better as far as actual users have reported. The largest corporations and richest people are now having the laws written to saw what they want to protect their profit and greed not for the best of the people.
Our lives in the US have been manipulated as much by laws as Govt guidelines and regulations.
One of my favorite outboard was the 4 and 6 cyl OMC crossflow. 95-175 HP, it was the same basic design with interchangeable basic part parts in the powerhead from 1979-1992 at least and I could rebuild them to last 2x to 3x what a stock factory motor would last on a commercial boat It was killed by OMC because of proposed EPA guidlines. motor designs changed completely every couple years after that. Just saying.