Searching for info about Poulan 2375 Wild Thing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larry Johnson

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I was given a well used poulan 2375 wild thing chainsaw that wasn't running. After replacing the fuel lines and plug, and cleaning all the saw dust between the coil and crankshaft, I managed to get it running, despite my limited mechanical skills. It seems to be idling well. The chain doesn't spin until the throttle is pulled. There seems to be an excess of chain lube oil being emitted, but I'm not really certain if it's too much. I have little experience with chain saws. I guess I'm just looking for reference info to understand how determine if it's running properly, make carb adjustments with the L and H screws, understand the purpose of the T screw adjustment hole. The owner's manual provides little useful info, it doesn't even indicate what the adjustment screws are for. I was able to learn a little from this video. thanks.

The 2375 isn't a bad saw for what it is. I did notice on some of those saws you have to turn the H and L screws out a little further than the manual would state. The other screw is merely the idle speed screw and in conjunction with the L screw you set the idle. If it doesn't have good throttle response off idle you can turn the L screw slightly out and it'll help clear that up. The H screw is for high speed mixture adjust. Warm the saw up, get it to idle correctly then set the H screw with the throttle opened up. Get it tuned for just about the highest speed then turn the H screw out about an eighth turn so it won't run too lean, you should be able to hear it burble when you open it up and have no load. If it doesn't burble a bit open the H screw up a little more until you hear it..Someone will come along later and tell you that this is all wrong but that's how I generally do it.