should I buy this sthil 046

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cw021382

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I found an 046 magnum for sale with new 20" sthil bar and chain. It comes with the old 20" sthil bar that seems to be in good shape, may need new nose and 2 used chains. Also includes a case. He wants 350 for all. I could hold the saw up by the pull cord so compression seems good, but when I tried it out on an old 18" poplar stump it would bog and even stop the chain if I leaned on it very much, does this sound right. I passed for now, but he is local so I can look at it again easy if no one else buys it. The saw looks great cosmetically, and idled fine. The chain was fairly sharp, and the saw was oiling fine. The filter was pretty dirty, but I cleaned it somewhat before I test cut. I am no expert but am worried about a scored cyl or piston. I may go tomorrow and pull the muffler to inspect, but I have never checked one before. What do you guys think? I just want the saw for bigger stuff when needed. My other saws are a 350 husky and a 445 husky. I have never owned a Sthil. Should I take a chance?

I have an auto compression tester. I assume they are the same, I just need to make sure I have the right adapter. What kind of reading should I be looking for? Anything else I should look for or at?

If you see at least 140-150 psi, you should be good to go. If you see 120 or less, you're looking at a ring job, minimum. What you see through the muffler port (if he allows - make sure you have a T27 Torx screw driver) is more important than the compression test, especially if you're not familiar with testing small equipment like saws.