Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimpleTree

Husqvarna. Just 'cause.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this site, although I have been trolling it for a few months now. I currently only have a Husqvarna 235e (which I know is not a popular saw around here) and I am looking to upgrade my saw. Currently I am thinking of the Husqvarna 450, 545, 543xp, and 550xp. I do not have much of a budget right now so I really am leaning toward the $370 450. I am planning on using the saw mostly for cleanup around my property (in a small city) and occasionally for firewood too. I would probably not be cutting anything down that is bigger than 24" in diameter and that would be a rare occasion. I think most of the stuff I'll be cutting will be less than 16" in diameter.

I would be happy to go used especially if it were to get me a much better deal. I have a few craigslist options that might fit the bill (I will add links below). One is a Jonsered 2255 with a 20" bar and 3 spare chains for $225. Also, I have found a Husqvarna 371xp that has been modified for $320. Finally, I have found a Husqvarna 455 Rancher for $325 and a 460 Rancher for $450.

I do not need the saw in too much of a hurry as long as my 235 continues to work. So, if it really would be worth it to upgrade to a pro level saw I might be able to save up the money to get one. On the other hand I may never use the saw to the extent that a pro saw is designed to be used. If the amount of use I get out of the saws is going to make them last about the same amount of time, it seems to me I should save a little money. Either way I would appreciate any help!

Thanks!

Husqvarna 460
http://dubuque.craigslist.org/grd/5016289920.html

Husqvarna 455
http://dubuque.craigslist.org/tls/5105548173.html

Jonsered 2255
http://dubuque.craigslist.org/tls/5073539125.html

Husqvarna 372xp