Soil analysis results & recommendations

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coolbrze

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
We just did a soil analysis on a clients property (2 attachments). Can you tell me what their trees (predominately a mature Chestnut Oak) need? Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Soil ph 5.4 wow! it's 7-7.5 where I live. I've only ever used Davey arbor green pro 30-10-7, 20 of N is microbial release and lasts 1 year plus

I'm no expert but it is my understanding that what may be good for the turf isn't necessarily good for the trees. That's why I was asking & didn't go off Shemins rate recommendations as those are catered the lawn vice trees. Still not sure what to tell them...

I admit I'm a noob with soil analysis. If you look at the ph chart I posted above you will see that your ph 5.4 is limiting the availability of the 3 main macronutrients NPK, as well as a few micronutrients. Someone said lime to buffer soil and raise ph, and someone said a high N fert, those would both be beneficial to the health of the tree. I recommend a slow release fertilizer for trees that have a sustained 1 year feeding. Lawn ferts are short lasting which is why lawn co's do several apps per year.
How did the tree health look? Is it chlorotic? Is there adequate space for root growth? mulch? Those are the things I look at. Generally a nitrogen fertilizer can help the tree develop a thicker root system, which helps them compete with turf roots. It can help smaller trees grow and establish quicker especially when grown in turf. Mature trees on the other hand are not going to grow faster from it but still benefit from an annual or every other year fert.