Starting my own business, need advice.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Treeguru

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I know there have been several threads related to starting up a new business, but everyone's situation is a bit different.

About myself: I am an ambitious 24 year old, living on my own with my future wife. I recently graduated with an associate's degree in landscape horticulture, I am ISA certified and hold my state's pesticide license. I consider myself very knowledgeable in horticulture/arboriculture, but like us all, there is always more to learn. I have alot of passion for the industry. I have several years of experience in the lawn/landscape biz and have worked at a young, but large arboretum for the past 2 years where I maintained over 3,600 trees/shrubs consisting of over 900 different species.

Business: Lawn/Landscape/Tree/Consulting

Lawn Services: Mowing, fertilization, insect/disease management, aeration, overseeding, sod, thatching.
Landscape Services: Design, removal, install, fertilization, insect/disease management, mulching, pruning.
Tree Services: Removal, planting, pruning, fertilizing, insect/disease mgt., lightning protection, cable/bracing.
Consulting: Diagnosing, appraisals, risk assesment.

Obviously these are alot of services to offer, but these are just my options. I am in a large, heavily populated suburban area. Starting out I will be on my own with very little capital, just a few grand for some equipment. I have a truck/trailer and access to storage facilities at no cost. I am not wanting to get into the mowing business, nor the landscape design/install biz. I am an arborist/horticulturist, and would like to primarily focus on plant health care eventually, maybe doing a few small installs here and there. I'm not a climber either. As much as I would like to be, I can't do heights.