Stihl 3/8 on 41" bar

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wesles24

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So I am seeking advice on what chain I should run on a 41" bar for an ms880, Stihl says the .404 will be the only fit they offer and 3/8 will not work. So will .404 be my only choice?

Thanks

Thanks for the input, I would like to run the 3/8" chain. I'm new to this so I'm a little confused as to what bar specs and 3/8" chain specs I need to purchase for the 880? According to Stihl I can't run 3/8 on their stock 41" bar that comes with the saw. I appreciate the feedback!

That's correct the 41" bar will have a nose sprocket that is designed to fit a 404 pitch chain and you cannot run 3/8 on that.
It sounds to me like your dealer is too lazy to swap the 404 drive sprocket and bar over to suit 3/8.

That's why I set myself up with roller (no teeth - just a roller) nose bars as they allow use of either 3/8 or 404 pitch chain as long as they have the the same gauge. My 60" Stihl bar came with a replaceable nose so I bought a GB replacement roller nose and made an adapter plate that mates the nose to the bar. The socket screws lose a bit of cut - I will eventually replace them with counter sunk screws.
together.jpg
These roller nose bars are now very hard to get hold of - I see there is a replacement GB harvester nose on eBay but it's priced at $75!

I actually emailed stihl and asked if 3/8 would work on their 41" bar, but I think I understand now. I was confused on how people we're able to run the 3/8 on longer bars. I will look into replacing drive sprocket, and keep the .063 gauge the same. Would a 7 tooth sprocket be better for 3/8"? I really appreciate the feedback BobL, I admit I am a newbie to this stuff, but I milled one tree with my 391 and I'm hooked! I now see that I need more power and a longer bar as well if I'm going to keep milling.