Stihl and husky rebuild help / advice wanted

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gasax

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all you fine , knowledgeable people , this is my first time on board here and am looking for some help . I recently acquired a Stihl MS271 and a Husky 555 xtorq , both partially disassembled with tore up cylinders . I have no idea the history of the saws . Initial thoughts were straight gas , both tanks have pre-mix (now anyways , maybe added after the fact ?) . With most things involving internal combustion , I prefer to sway towards performance and am trying to figure out if I will rebuild either one or both of these saws and if they would stay in their original configuration or aim for the " bigger,better " direction . Being completely honest , chainsaws are not 100% my thing , my experience with them is limited , certainly compared to most on this forum (which is why I'm here) . I've spent a number of hours now trying to search out part numbers to see what options I would have available and am not having much luck . My main question is displacement , are these engines part of a family / design that share la arger bore ? IE , can I put a MS291 jug on the 271 ? As far as I can tell they have the same exhaust , carb and crank .

Even though I dont use saws alot , I have it in my head since I got these and have been doing some reading that I want a professional series saw . I am being told by people that both of these saws are not professional series and being told by others that they are in the bottom end of the professional class .