Take over tree service?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

unclemoustache

My 'stache is bigger than yours.
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
A local tree service is wanting to retire someday, and has asked if I will take over the business. It's an established business with a good name in the area.

My own tree background: Self-trained through books and videos. I've removed dozens of trees in my own home-improvement business, sometimes climbing them and chunking them out. Occasionally renting lifts and stump-grinders. This tree service doesn't have a climber, and has hired me a few times to climb. I'm currently a remodeling contractor, but the money is not quite what I would like.

So my wife and I are really struggling on what to do. I don't believe this tree service is certified, so my first question is about what it takes to get certified. I understand that one path requires 3 years of work under a certified arborist, but that's not an option here. Are there other paths to certification?

Insurance is stinking expensive, but I'm not sure how he is even insured without some kind of certification. I would think an insurance co would require that for a tree service co.

I'm not sure how he deals with his workers. I don't believe they are full-time, and I don't think they are under-the-table either. Probably part-time employees, and he sometimes has difficulty getting enough workers to help on jobs.

Equipment. He has a new 80' lift and a new dump trailer, but much of his other equipment is pretty low quality. He's got a working Bobcat, but his chip truck (an old farm dump truck) is a nightmare. I would think I'd need to change over equipment pretty heavily in the short term.