Tolerance for bed rails on sawmill?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim Timber

1/4 bubble off
Reaction score
As a machinist, I'm used to "dead nuts" precision. I've dealt with many projects where the window between success and abject failure (scrap) is a fraction of a human hair. The equipment I use needs to be precise to get those jobs done - if my vise is off .001", the parts made in it will not work. Wood is a whole different animal. :D

So while I'm doing the mental gymnastics of designing my sawmill, I've come to realize I'm not sure what my tolerances should be. Guys use ladders, dimensional lumber, and off the shelf angle iron for saw tracks - none of those are overly precise. I know precision ground ways aren't needed (not even close), but I'm not sure at what point things go from acceptable to needing attention? Is it 1/16" from a given plane (plus or minus), or 1/4" from one end to the other? What's sufficient for a bandsaw mill to produce useable boards and beams?

You sound about as picky as I am! ;)

If precision is the goal, I'd shoot for less than 1/16". If you have a 1/16"+ hump on a side, then turn 180 deg. and do the same....well you're looking at a 1/8"-3/16" swelled area on your cant/board. Or as you're sawing thru-n-thru, the change in the track will be present in each piece that you saw. Chances are you'll be able to fine tune the frame once setup and correct any variances that are not acceptable with whatever support system you use for the frame. The choice of materials will determine the flexibility to adjust the frame post construction, as you well know. Its all in what tolerances YOU want. What one person says is "close 'nuff" may not be anywhere near to the tolerances of the final product you find acceptable.

Keep in mind....It's still classified as ROUGH CUT lumber.