Tuning a saw for milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigOakAdot

ArboristSite newb
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am new to milling and have read multiple posts about tuning a saw specifically for milling.

I'm pretty much clueless when it comes to tuning in general. I know a lot of people do it by sound, but I have no idea what to listen for.

All I basically know is it has to do with adjusting the screws, that's it. Can anyone recommend how to get started on learning to tune a saw? Maybe a YouTube tutorial or something?

Thanks guys.

BOA

I've been tuning by ear, but brown santa is bringing my tach today.

You want the saw a little bogged down (too much fuel) milling because it keeps the piston from getting as hot as it would if you tuned it to a clean burn. Just not so rich that the saw labors in the cut.

We noobs need to know how to deal with the barriers to needle adjustment (without screwing-up the needle) that must be done before ya try to go outside the "factory" settings -- as "too rich" (to have cooling via fuel) is prolly too-polluting for our Air Resources Board. I have toasted two top ends; maybe 'cause I did not do the tuning correctly? It is still mystery to me.

We have EPA induced "limiters" here too. I call removing them "jailbreaking" because the process isn't that different than throwing out the firmware on a mobile phone who's maker doesn't want you messing with it's parameters either.

At any rate - the limiters are easily defeated on every saw I've encountered. Some require pulling the needle out, and some come off the outside of the needle without needing to remove them.

Once the limiters are removed, your carb needs to be set to the "base line" (factory default) settings, and that's 1-1/4 turn from lightly seated (screwed all the way in). From this initial setting, you then start the saw and begin dialing it in.