Where to trim

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

furick1

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
This branch has a V with one part that was previously cut by former home owner. I trimmed down the other branch (horizontal) but would appreciate advice on where to make the final cut(s). If it didn’t have the V I would cut a little away from the trunk to complete but with the V, I wonder if I should recut the older trimmed branch as well. I’m a newbie and am borrowing a friends chain saw to make the final cuts.

829d8a5474e7eb717662d103650e3edc.jpg

1d98a4d17e5135aecc952b4270e9da46.jpg

You can trim this closer to the trunk, but it will sucker and sprout anywhere you cut it. Do not cut into the main trunk and do not 'flush-cut' the limb. It's better to leave a bit more limb than it is to try and get it all and cut into the main tree.

Thank you

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I would place my saw at the top, staying just to the right of the crotch - away from trunk and cut slightly angled to end 2 inches from the base of the trunk. 75 degree cut or so will keep you off the branch collar.

The limb in question doesn't really have a branch collar, it's almost more of a co-dominate leader. As such there is not going to be a perfect 'target' cut.

This is why pruning early in a tree's life is so important. That limb could easily been removed with no negative effect to the tree is we only had a time machine.

Experienced and knowledgeable arborist take their best shots at cuts like this and that is best that can be done.

We are not going to be able to draw a line marking the best cut on a two dimensional photo.

I would not be making a undercut on this cut as it would be very difficult to line up the two cuts. I would take most of the weight off though with another cut being made before the final cut.