Which Mill?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MacLaren

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Hey fellers, which mill would yall recommend to a beginner? I would like to have one to be able to make some racing cants and just play around with too.
Should I get an Alaskan mill or .....just what should I do? Thanks in advance!

I'm fairly new to milling but have an Alaskan and love it. Tried a mini and didn't like it at all if you want any consistency. Only thing about any of them is you need a big saw to rip a log. If your handy and can weld, look through the posts here and make one. Not very hard to do. I should've built mine but didn't because I hadn't seen one first hand and needed one fast for a project. I will make my next one though...

I'm fairly new to milling but have an Alaskan and love it. Tried a mini and didn't like it at all if you want any consistency. Only thing about any of them is you need a big saw to rip a log. If your handy and can weld, look through the posts here and make one. Not very hard to do. I should've built mine but didn't because I hadn't seen one first hand and needed one fast for a project. I will make my next one though...

Thanks man, thats some good info.

Hey fellers, which mill would yall recommend to a beginner? I would like to have one to be able to make some racing cants and just play around with too.
Husqvarna 372 XPW Walkin Light Barney
Husqvarna 346 XP NE Doc
Stihl 08S Clovis
Stihl MS 170 Ruby
With those saws you could do either. If your initial purpose is cants a mini-mill or equivalent would probably suffice.
Granberg Mini-Mill #G555B
https://www.baileysonline.com/itemdetail.asp?item=46555&catID=

Of course you could get slightly more complex
attachment.php
kudos to BobL

Just make sure you add in the optional flat panel monitor and refrigerator.