Why SRT for canopy access

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rmihalek

Where's the wood at?
Reaction score
I've read in a couple places now that single rope technique (SRT) is a preferred way to gain access to the tree canopy but that once in the tree the doubled rope technique (DdRT) allows better manuverablility.

As a newbie, I don't see why SRT is a faster way to climb other than the fact that mechanical ascenders are used. Is that all there is to it?

You can move faster up the rope SRT 'cause it's 1:1 as opposed to 2:1 for DdRT. It's more of an issue for arborists who want to get to the canopy quickly. Or for rec climbers who climb huge conifers. Just about any tree can be climbed DdRT. You just a need a long enough rope to get to the first branch. The current thinking in rec climbing instruction is master DdRT first then learn SRT. SRT gives you another skill set and more options for entering a tree.

With SRT, it isn't necessary to isolate the crotch so that both line ends tail along the same path, which is next to impossible with many conifers. And it is less strenuous than body thrusting which also can damage the tree if a friction saver isn't installed. Accomplished footlockers have little reason to bother with the extra gear SRT requires.

SRT saves energy and time. Period. I use a combination of both nearly every climb. Sometimes I access the tree using SRT until I get to a good spot to switch to the DdRT and then the manuverability is there.

For example, a 50' tree. I hit a shot at 40' ascend only 30', switch and then work DdRT.

Then there are times when I will access SRT, go to the top and switch to DdRt and work my way down.