workman's comp insurance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Christine

Reaction score
Hello again,

I'm trying to find a way around workman's comp insurance as I'm just starting out and can't aford such a large monthly payment. However, I have someone I want to hire but, although he is a subcontractor, doesn't carry his own insurance.

My insurance agent, who seemed just as unsure as I am, said I could hire him and have him sign a waver? Or hire him as temporary help?

The policy I am getting is just for general liability.

Will appreciate any and all suggestions :)

Christine

Here's a suggestion Think about becoming someones employee instead of a business owner.

Hello again,

I'm trying to find a way around workman's comp insurance as I'm just starting out and can't aford such a large monthly payment. However, I have someone I want to hire but, although he is a subcontractor, doesn't carry his own insurance.

My insurance agent, who seemed just as unsure as I am, said I could hire him and have him sign a waver? Or hire him as temporary help?

Christine

W/C is based upon your payroll. the more you do and the more payroll you pay, the more w/c you pay. don't understand how it can be that big if you are just starting off.
you don't hire a subcontractor, you contract them like they are another company (which they are) so if you hire him and he has no insurance of his own and works under yours, he is an employee, and you must pay taxes and w/c on his payroll.