Husqvarna 65 / New to Forum

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vernon Tull

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Gentlemen -- I've been reading this forum for quite some time and only recently decided to register. I'm no professional saw man as are some of you, but I've used a few saws over the years (Homelite, Stihl, and, unfortunately, Poulan) for clearing brush and odd jobs around the house. One of the best saws we ever had in the family was a Homelite XL-12 that was made in the early 70s.

My question pertains to a Husqvarna 65 that has surfaced in our family. It's marked 65L and was made in Yugoslavia. My father-in-law recalls buying it sometime in the late 70s and cutting a heck of a lot of firewood with it back in those days before he put it away in the shed due to (1) its not wanting to start after it had been run a while and had gotten hot, (2) the pull-rope breaking, and (3) the family going from buring wood to propane heat years ago.

We got the saw out this past weekend to look it over. I've looked on-line, but parts seem to be scarce. Is this a model that's worth fixing up, or would that be a waste of time and money? What do any of you know about this model 65? Thanks.

I know a some.
If the saw say Husqvarna L65 on the plate, it is Sweden made. It changed the name to Tomos when they made it in Joguslavia by Tomos, then it was no longer a HVA.
I think you have a bad coil, check the spark when it won't start.
Change the starter rope.

This saw is best kept as collectors item, or sentimental values.

Thanks, SawTroll, for the parts list. That will be helpful if we decide to try to get this one back in working order.