7200 Volts Vs Log Truck

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stephen44

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
This happened Wednesday, July 23rd 2008, by the airport in Jackson , TN.
The driver was attempting to throw the logging cable over the logs to secure them. As you can see, he hooked the electric line instead!
He said the tires began to fry within seconds.. very lucky man he could easily have been fried himself!

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited:
That is absolutely nuts. Never would have thought that could happen. I would have thought that the rubber tires would have insulated it. Guess thats a lot of volts, tho.

tires are steel belted...

same thought--how did it jump the tires??? unless part of that same cable was laying on the ground--arcing

and steel conducts. Im no electrician. however as I undrestand it, up the voltage enouph electricity will travel through even great insulators like air; lightning for example. He is lucky to be alive and unhurt.

same thought--how did it jump the tires??? unless part of that same cable was laying on the ground--arcing

Absolutely it will jump tires, steel belted as they are, their insulating quality is highly overestimated, in fact not to be considered insulaters at all.

Truck tires now are mostly all steel carcas not just steel belted and the rubber compounds with a lot of powdered carbon are only insulators to low voltage. You might have less than a 1/4 inch gap at the rim and another half inch at the tread surface.

Fire dept i work at resoponded to a crane on fire turns out operator got into a 13,200 line with the cable. Tires caught fire operator decided to get off machine he didnt make it. It was a bad scene 30 construction workers screaming do something. All we could do was keep people back till power was cut

Last edited: