Beams with a reg. alaskan style mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Wow! That's a nice looking bridge.Thanks for posting that pic.and info.:clap:

Wow that is beautiful! I can't imagine the amount of work that went into that awesome. Timberframing rules!!! thanks for the pics and links irishcountry

cutting beams

Hi Irish. I'm a relative newbie to milling, but have gotten some great results with my Alaskan 36". I've got to figure out how to shrink the file size on some pics, but here's a decription of the process.

First, to box the heart properly you need to set the rail plane parallel to the heart. I have my logs on a crib (a couple other logs) so they are supported in two places. This makes it real easy to cut the bottom out first. For an 8x8 I set the depth to cut 4" below the heart and slice the bottom out. Then set depth to 8", roll the log over, and cut out the parallel. To get the 90 degree cut I use a framming level and stand the log up plumb, dog it in place, then set the rails level (on both ends!) and viola, nice and sqaure! Again, cut the bottom out 4" below the heart, re set mill to 8", roll the log, and with one more pass you've got a nice 8x8.

I'm building a 20'x20' high post timber framed barn. Just cut the first of five 20' 8x8 tie beams and plates. Same technique. If I can figure out how to shrink the pictures I've got some neat ones to show off.

Good luck Irish.

-redoak

Hi Irish. I'm a relative newbie to milling, but have gotten some great results with my Alaskan 36". I've got to figure out how to shrink the file size on some pics, but here's a decription of the process.