charging customers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimmychad

Reaction score
just curious, how do you guys charge your customers, before the job starts, or have them sign a contract and charge them after? im new to this and trying to learn the ropes.

Not to say this is "right for everybody":
I get a contract before and send a bill after the job is completed - due in 30 days (that is in the contract). If they need longer to pay, I can make individual exceptions and put that in the contract, but I wouldn't go more than 45-60 days until it is due.

On some big jobs (especially those with some significant upfront costs) it would be nice to get a down payment...but I think that most clients are more comfortable not paying up front.

Maybe the one other piece of the equation is the client... If you think it is going to be hard to get money, maybe a large deposit is in order.

Certainly different areas and type of clientelle may determine how you run your business. However, this is what we do.

Most people pay at completion (if they are home) or pop a check in the mail if they are not. Our invoice states payment is due at time of completion. But I will mail a statement to a client who is not home. If a job is particularly long and drawn out, we may ask for payment of services to date midway through. However, that is rare.

We are very fortunate to live in an area where collections are not or have not been a big issue, so the honor system still works here.

Sylvia

Certainly different areas and type of clientelle may determine how you run your business. However, this is what we do.