Demand for face cords?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dnf0929

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the firewood thing...only burned wood in the past/never sold any. All I have is a saw, splitter and small pick-up but I love working outside and I've managed to cut and split about 12 cords this year and I only need about 5. I can only get about a face cord in my truck so there's no way I want to be making three trips if I sold a cord of wood and I doubt many people who order a cord are going to pick it up. Therefore I'm thinking it's probably best to just offer face cords. Anybody else do it this way and how do you fare? Thanks!

Thanks TreeCo...I was a bean counter until I realized how much I hated being an office all day so I love numbers. 128 Cubic feet means a lot more to me than a cord so fractions will work for me.

Yes, I sell by the facecord and can sell everything I can make. I have two 60 facecord sheds (20" wood). I try to keep one in rotation for myself and sell the other each year. I meter it out with my facecord skidsteer attachment so people know exactly what they are getting.

I'm relatively new to the firewood thing...only burned wood in the past/never sold any. All I have is a saw, splitter and small pick-up but I love working outside and I've managed to cut and split about 12 cords this year and I only need about 5. I can only get about a face cord in my truck so there's no way I want to be making three trips if I sold a cord of wood and I doubt many people who order a cord are going to pick it up. Therefore I'm thinking it's probably best to just offer face cords. Anybody else do it this way and how do you fare? Thanks!

It's the only way I sell it (face cord). The people I deal with know what a face cord is and want to buy wood that way.