Dolmar Chainsaws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GMyank

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
This is my first post. I am rather new to chainsaws. I want to purchase a chainsaw for cutting firewood and have been reading all the posts. Of course I want a good saw. but not pay a lot for it. I have narrowed it down to Stihl MS039 or MS280, but am also considering the Dolmar 5100S. Can anyone tell me more about the Dolmar company? Are they dependable, few repairs, few recalls, etc.? How do they rank as far as popularity in the US and other countries? Thanks.

This is my first post. I am rather new to chainsaws. I want to purchase a chainsaw for cutting firewood and have been reading all the posts. Of course I want a good saw. but not pay a lot for it. I have narrowed it down to Stihl MS039 or MS280, but am also considering the Dolmar 5100S. Can anyone tell me more about the Dolmar company? Are they dependable, few repairs, few recalls, etc.? How do they rank as far as popularity in the US and other countries? Thanks.

Go on line to dolmar.com. Learn about the company. As for the saws, I love mine. A lot of saw for less money. Well made and runs well.:chainsaw:

Dolmars are German-made saws. There are two models that are particularly well-liked by the folks here...the 5100S and the 7900. They cost substantially less, but will equal or exceed the performance of similar offerings from Stihl. The only drawbacks seem to be finding a supportive, knowledgeable dealer and uncertain perceived long-term reliablilty. However, if either of these saws had a Stihl logo on them and maintained the exact same design and price, they would most certainly be the top selling saws in their respective classes.