dull chain saga

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jedisawyer

Reaction score
howdy
just stumbled across this site on the internet and there seems to be a lot of good knowledge here
what prompted my search was a recent problem with this persistently dull chain that had me pretty bummed out for about a week.
(note: i am not a pro from dover sawyer as my avatar would suggest- have run saw for about 3 months a year since '98, professionally)
here's the deal:
honker coast live oak (@ 200 years) keels over in the parking lot.
so me and another sawyer are trying to keep the chipper fed and the swampers swamping. i'm new to this crew. got 1 026 and 1 fairly new chain.
also bucking up limbs After theyve been dragged through the mud by the excavator. so had to put a few licks on this chain several times that day.
the last time, in a rush, put the 'C' in way too deep and the teeth curl right over after a few minutes of cutting, escpecially the leftside cutters (go figure, im right handed).
so, 1- dealt with this before, thought id just stand the teeth back up with the big file (7/32). doesnt work.
2- put the proper 'C' back in with the right file (3/16). doesnt work.
(j cutting to the right, bad, couple bar widths down and its no-go)
3- check the tooth length, angles, raker hieghths, everything looks fine.
4- find a new chain, thank god, it works. establish the bar's not bent.
5- sharpen again, freehand, doesnt work. note: we have no solvent bucket or wire brushes so i'm looking at a gummed up chain.
also, and this is huge: was at the point now where the chain was short enough to go from factory 30 deg. angle to 35 deg. angle which matches the hash mark on the tooth (when its new the files too fat and will hit the raker at at a 35, this poorly affected change is possible problem cause A)
6- hit the rakers. doesnt work. makes problem worse. (immediate j cutting.)