Echo cs3400 starts easily and dies quickly; new coil/old coil; new carb/old carb

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Push the primer bulb 3-4 times, set the choke, pull the cord; this saw has always fired right up and run strong for what it is. No more, now it fires up and I can keep it running for a while by playing with the choke; choking it when it starts to die and then opening the choke; but 30 seconds is about all I can get it to run. Same result after replacing the coil. Same result after replacing the carb. Initially I replaced the fuel filter, gas cap, air filter and checked the exhaust screen. I'm no mechanic, but recently succeeded in getting the newer of my 026's to run with a new coil. This cs3400 may be 30+ years old, but it hasn't lost power. I'm 70 and she and I haven't seen a lot of action for many years, but it seems we end up renting a lift once a year to do someone a favor for kicks and old times sake to prove we've still know how. But this year I had to borrow a Stihl 201t from a young whippersnapper I know. Every year I rent the lift I think it's the last tree, and then..... So I'm hoping to get my sidekick running again, just in case.
I'm all ears. TIA

I have a 3450 that I really love, we have done a lot of cutting together.

It sounds like the carb is gummed up. You can seat the screws making careful note of where they are set (like 1.25 turns) and then remove them. Spray some carb cleaner in the bore the screws came out of a few times and let it dry. Reinstall screws and try it.

If it is worse it may need to be disassembled and cleaned.