Hand ascender compatibility with single braid rope

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ap1

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi people. I've been getting some great info from arborist site for a couple of months but I've been kind of quiet. I'm new to tree climbing but as I'm married, middle aged, and have kids, I value my life and have treaded cautiously into this endeavor. I have a Petzl hand ascender. The booklet that comes with it describes it as being made for use with kernmantle rope. It makes no mention one way or the other about use with other types. I'm using Arbor Master single braid. Does anyone know if the hand ascender will work acceptably with Arbor Master rope? My use would be simple SRT ascension; no unusual lateral uses or other radical stuff you pros do.

Thanks,
AP

It should work fine, assuming it can handle 1/2 in rope. Keep in mind that ascenders are made for the rock-climbing and caving worlds. Lots of arborists have never used one and never will, but a rope like Arbormaster, with its thick cover (much thicker than a kernmantle) should hold up very well. I use my CMI ascenders on Arbormaster all the time. Some ropes are no doubt unsuitable or even dangerous with an ascender, but I can't imagine you would have a problem with Arbormaster.

Hand Ascender

Some times you can run a chain saw file over the sharp teeth on that Ascender just to dull up the teeth so it don 't pull to many threads out of you rope. I had to do this with the first Petzel basic ascender I bought back in 97, still use it

Thanks, both of you.