Highest & Best Value for this Walnut?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noah

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi loggers,

I'm just a newbie that cuts firewood, etc. and sometimes comes across a tree that's TOO nice for firewood. Wind brought down a solid Black Walnut that was given to me. Its up off the ground but still on site partially uprooted. Size is 33'ft. long. Its 63" circum. at stumpage ht., and 19"dia. at 18'ft. from base.

What would be the approx. value in N. Central West Virginia?

Another question:
I only have a 1/2 ton 4wheel drive p/u available so far, and no way of getting the tree up off a hill side loaded, yet. It would need sectioned and loaded into the p/u, OR a logger to take it and pay percentage to him. What would you suggest?

Thanks,

Noah

It's only worth what somebody's willing to pay you for it. Transportation costs can quickly match or surpass the wholesale worth of the log. If there are no local mills then you will have no market for it. I see beautiful wood going to the dump on a daily basis because nobody here has any use for it. Finde your nearest mills and solicit it to them.

Skwerl,

There is a mill w/in driving distance that does veneer. They don't give out estimates w/out seeing logs.

I'm just wondering from the opinions of those who are in the business, or those who have been there-done-that, what I should do to get the best $. Since the most that local mills w/do is give me an offer at the mill, the only other thing that I can think of is asking owners of logging companies to come to the site(s), (there's another), and giving an est./offer. The guy would like me to get it off of his property ASAP. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Noah

Noah,
Most mills around here won't mess with it. Not enough of the species to make a truckload, and the by-products can't be sent to the papermills.