Homeowner-size Chipper/Shredder Suggestions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

computeruser

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I’ve been thinking about picking up some sort of leaf/twig/small branch chipping machine to help with cleaning up after some of my non-commercial tree and shrub trimming and removal. Up to this point, I’ve always just hauled my debris out in my trailer and chopped it up later, but this makes for a lot of work and takes a ton of time. Occasionally I will rent a 6” chipper from Home Depot and this has been enough in all but two instances over the course of many years.

I do not need to buy a chipper, as I would only be using it once or twice per month and only on really small stuff. I do not do this for a living and I do not intend to in the future, I'm just looking for something to use around the yard, with friends/family, and at the cemetery I care for. I would like to find a better way to condense twigs and branches under 2” into chipped up stuff that can be thrown in my trailer before I toss in the larger branches and logs. Most anything larger than 2-3” will be kept for firewood, but the other stuff often takes up a lot of room in my trailer and ends up requiring multiple trips to dispose of. The 5-10hp chippers that MTD/TroyBilt/Craftsman market to homeowners seem like a bit less machine than I would prefer, but I haven’t used them enough to know for sure.

I would like something that can be placed in my trailer and could be moved about by hand. Any suggestions for products to consider, products to avoid?

Last edited: