How to start Crepe Myrtle?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Axe Mcgee

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the Arborist forums and must say Thanks to the admins and webmasters who put together a wonderful space for people of the same interests to get together.

I live in Greenville, NC. and recently found some crepe myrtles with seed pods ready to drop. Since I wanted to plant flowering trees down my 700ft driveway. I thought I'd try to get these to grow. No luck, I've read in other olaces to put them in brown bags, in the sunlight, or to just let them fall on soil and they will germinate. But I have yet to see them pop. It's been maybe 3 months now with no results. Is it the time of year? my methods?

I also found some southern magnolia pods with red seeds popping out of them, so I grabbed em up and did some reading to find you have to remove the hard seed from the red coating and wash in a mild soap solution to remove the oils, then if its not cold out you need to place them in the fridge for a week or some then in some warmer temps to fool the seed to grow.
Again no luck after about 3 months.

Anyone whos got any ideas as to what I've done wrong please let me know. Maybe I'm just being impatient :).

Thanks in advance for your input.

I will quote a paragraph from Michael Dirr's book Manual of Woody Landscape Plants, page 545. (This paragraph is specific to the common crapemyrtle.)