Husqvarna 345/350/353 for Canadian Newbie?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cygni52

Reaction score
Hello,

I am very new to the chainsaw world... my only previous experience was a week last summer of using a stihl MS 270 helping a neighbour clear a few acres to expand his back yard... didn't particularly enjoy my time with the stihl so now that I have some work of my own to do I thought I would go with a Husqvarna... only problem is that it seems like online sites won't ship them which means I'm stuck paying the prices the canadian dealers are asking... I can get the 345 and 350 for $499 and the 353 for $599. Is the extra cc and magnesium crankcase of the 353 worth the extra $100? I need to completely clear 1 acre full of 8"-16" trees (pine,cedar,ash,poplar and I think some ash) and then make a wide trail network in about 10 acres of land... Following that I would have a lot cedar posts to make up and a bunch of firewood to cut. any advice from this forum would be greatly appreciated as dropping $565-$678 canadian isn't something I want to throw away without serious thought...

thanks in advance to anyone willing to give some time and share some wisdom with yet another newbie...

Have You Thought About A Dolmar 5100

You may want something like a Dolmar ps5100, great with a 16 or 18 inch bar. They are $495 here in Canada plus taxes. Good commercial grade saw. Do a search on this forum on the 5100. It may fit the bill. Dave.

Without hesitation,go to the 353.The mag case,the added hp,reliability are worth it.And you seem to have lot of work to do,forget about about the smaller models.

You may want something like a Dolmar ps5100, great with a 16 or 18 inch bar. They are $495 here in Canada plus taxes. Good commercial grade saw. Do a search on this forum on the 5100. It may fit the bill. Dave.