Installing throttle cable on vermeer 665a stump grinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arbor pro

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I just bought an older vermeer 665a stump grinder with a 65hp wisconsin diesel engine. There was no throttle cable on it and the original part was no longer available so, I ordered an after-market cable from vermeer by phone order. I specifically asked for installation instructions but received none with the part. The cable is very long and I can't figure out just where to snake it so it doesn't get tangled up as the machine swings from side to side. And I don't want to cut it off until I know how to mount it to the throttle.

I'm not a great mechanic so I'll try to provide more details so you can understand the situation: On this machine, the engine throttle lever is pulled towards the operator's station to increase rpms. This pulls against a heavy internal spring in the engine. To return to a low idle, you simple let go of the throttle lever and it returns back towards what appears to be a throttle mount on the side opposite of the operator.

To mount the throttle on the opposite side would mean pushing against the spring. While the throttle cable sleave is rather stout, the throttle wire isn't all that big so, I'm doubting that it can push on the throttle without bending. It looks to me like it needs to pull on the throttle but I don't see a mount on that side of the engine.

I suppose I could make a mount on the operator side of the engine but, before I do so, can anyone with a 665A or similar machine give me your take on this? A photo or drawing from a maintenance manual would be especially of help but any suggestions would be appreciated.

No one around my town works on these machines so I can't just pop in at the local repair shop and ask them how to do it.

Thanks.

Correction: perkins NOT wisconsin diesel