Issue with Stihl 076 AV

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Logan_M0822

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I was ripping with my Stihl 076 AV when about 20 seconds into the cut the saw made some pops and then stopped on its own. The sawdust was really fine like from a power tool not the big chips from a chainsaw. The bar oil and mixed fuel was freshly filled. The chain was recently sharpened. I put in a new spark plug. The old one was all brown (is that bad). I started it just fine and let it idle for a bit. Then when I started cutting the same thing happened. I need help. I am not a great mechanic and need the saw for a downed maple tree that I’m getting payed to buck up. IMG_4891.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_6597.jpeg
    IMG_6597.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
Sounds like dull chain for starters, which it's self is very hard on the saw, even though you said it's been sharpened. Finer sawdust doesn't come from a properly sharpened chain.
What mix ratio are you using?Ripping is very hard on a chainsaw especially with a chain the is not sharpened properly. You should be using fresh gas with good oil at what i prefer a 32:1 ratio
Pull the muffler to inspect what your piston looks like.
Your old plug looks OK, what kind of plug did you use?

Sounds like dull chain for starters, which it's self is very hard on the saw, even though you said it's been sharpened. Finer sawdust doesn't come from a properly sharpened chain.
What mix ratio are you using?Ripping is very hard on a chainsaw especially with a chain the is not sharpened properly. You should be using fresh gas with good oil at what i prefer a 32:1 ratio
I am 100% sure that the saw was sharp. The only think I can think of is if I hit a rock when I started the cut. It doesn’t make sense though because when I filed the teeth again they were still very sharp and had been grinded recently.