Looking for advice on a stove/fireplace install

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CountryBoy19

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I am not new to burning wood (been burning it outdoors for years), nor am I new burning wood indoors (family has been doing it for years, but one thing I am new to is picking out a good stove/fireplace setup and getting it installed properly.

Let me start of by saying that I plan to do most/all of the install work my self if possible. I can pretty much do anything I put my mind to, I'm a DIY guy that is very hands-on. For example, I tore my french doors out, fixed the partially sunken studs, replaced rotted sub-floor and then properly re-installed the doors, I should be able to handle a stove install.

The problem I am having is planning it all out and picking the right stove.

My wife would like a fireplace in the master bedroom, but I also want wood heat in the main living area to supplement my electric heat. It just so happens that the master bedroom shares a common wall with the living room.

My wife said the solution is simple, put a see-thru fireplace in. That sounds simple enough, put a zero-clearance, see-thru fireplace in the wall then construct a "fake chimney" to mask the vent pipe. Can anybody see a problem with this?

The problem is that I can't find very many see-thru fireplaces on the net, can anybody point me to a reputable manufacturer that makes a see-thru fireplace that can just be stuck into an existing wall (I realize that I will have to do some framing etc once it's inserted)? What about a high-efficiency one? I live in a rural subdivision so I want something that isn't going to smoke the neighbors out.