McCullough Mac 110 vs Mini Mac 30 vs Mini Mac 6

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baroil

Reaction score
Hey there chainsaw fans... I'm new to chainsaws - used one a long time ago but I have some land clearing to do and will need to hone my skills in the near future. I have had my eyes on a stihl 180 or 230 at the local dealer but yesterday I kind of inherited 3 mcullough saws. I was able to get them all to turn over. Not sure when they last ran, but the previous owner must have taken reasonable care of them since they all ran and idled for a few minutes on new 40:1 gas. A bit smoky but idling OK and coming up to full throttle OK also. The 110 seems to idle fast, and it did bog a bit. I have not put them into any logs yet.

As a courtesy to the family of the previous owner who passed away, I would like to sell two of them and pass the cash back to them, and keep one for myself as I don't see the need to have three of these little guys. I realize these are small, old, loud, vibratey saws but thought it might be nice to have a little guy in the shed - and I like to tinker - and the price was right. If I get my "spending cash" jar full enough I will probably still go ahead with the 230 purchase for bigger jobs.

I'm wondering if, given the choice of the 110, mini 30 or mini 6, which one is best to keep? Are there any tests I should do to see which is the best runner? I'm thinking about ease of self-servicing, availability of parts as well as reliability. It seems based on fooling around with them that the 110 or the 30 would be the choice. Or if one of these is significantly better for resale, I would maybe sell that one to get the best cash for the family and then keep the second best myself as I'm sure in the long run this one will just be a secondary "toy" saw :)