Money Making with your Mill?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clawmute

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I am curious as to how many men with mills (of any type) actually turn a for real profit from their investment. I know its great fun and satisfaction making your own lumber for use in various projects, but how many actually make real dollars from it? One of my old customers once told me that if he inherited a million dollars he would just keep sawmilling until it was gone. It can be a bottomless pit.

I used to have a 48" circle mill and am considering another mill of some kind to use some pine & hardwood on our place, and maybe make a few bucks on the side. I really liked the old mill I had, but might build from scratch a nice CSM. I am a designer for an engineering company that does nothing but sawmills/woodyards/OSB mills MDF mills and the like, so I'm familiar with the business.

Do you make money with your small mill, or is it just a fun pastime?

Money is a evil thing. My tech is the only person I know who made consistent money with a mill (L15). He bought all his logs, EWP and made picnic tables. He lives on a main road on a big lake. Wood so wet it wouldn't go through the planner. He gets $10 a foot. My mill I got $2900 into it. My other toys cost a lot more and I assure you they never made me any money.

I am curious as to how many men with mills (of any type) actually turn a for real profit from their investment. I know its great fun and satisfaction making your own lumber for use in various projects, but how many actually make real dollars from it?