Ms500i no spark

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

idiotwithasaw

another row to hoe
Reaction score
I picked up a 500i from a local dealer out of his parts pile, saw looked good but was in pieces. I asked the owner why it was parted out and the answer I got was "i dont know", he has multiple mechanics so I wasn't surprised. Either way I got it home and started inventorying what all was missing. Wasn't too bad and didn't take long to find some parts and I slapped it together tonight.

As I was going through it I checked for spark First with the plug laying on cylinder method and then with a spark tester and no dice. I tried it with thekill switch plugged in and without, I've never worked on one of these before where should I start.

You have a generator under the flywheel. A control cable that goes to the "computer" and a "computer" .

Make sure a lead of the cable has not shorted to the magnesium. You can do that with an ohm meter. Or magnifying glass maybe.

I'm assuming they hooked it up to the diagnostic system and got no answers.
Even the computer is only like $250, so worth replacing on that saw. Doubt is the generator, but who knows.

Sort of a labor of love on those things. They may have just not wanted to screw with it. Or, more than just no fire wrong.

I don't know how they time it. Would be curious to know. Has to be a position sensor somewhere.

But, if the flywheel is not turning in the stator then it certainly won't have any voltage.

Well, that doesn't really make any sense because you would feel that instantly because you wouldn't be turning the shaft.
If it is just not timed right it would still be firing some time.
Maybe somebody will chime in who knows

As I was going through it I checked for spark First with the plug laying on cylinder method and then with a spark tester
A couple of quick things to check and eliminate: