My 500i porting recipe?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hoolio

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello guys and girls.

So I’ve finally pulled the 500i apart and am ready to start porting.

I’ve only ported a few saws and never with a timing wheel.
I have posted about this before but now I have a clearer plan, I’m hoping you can let me know if my plan is sound.

Stock timing is this

Ex 106

In 83

I’ve gutted and opened up the stock muffler.

My plan-

Take .040”off the base. (Is this too much? I’m worried about needing epoxy in the inlet, I don’t want to do this.)

Cut the squish to .020” or slightly bigger.

Raise the exhaust to 103 (this will be grinding off about .060”, seems like a lot? )

Any input would be very appreciated.
Thanks everyone.

Why are people afraid to fill intake ports?
What is your transfer port number and your goals?
Guess I’m just a rookie and it’s one less thing for me to learn. I don’t necessarily think filling the ports is a bad practice.

I can’t remember the transfer now, I didn’t touch them, I don’t have a tool for them and really don’t know much about directing them.
I think going off other builds standard Nos with similar cut off the base to me (.045”) you can end up with 124. Bit of a rough guess though.

Goals. Have fun learning and Ideally end up with a pretty snappy saw, that still pulls well in the cut.
I ended up going .045 off the base, .022 squishband, smoothing out the intake port but not changing the shape or timing and smoothing inside the injector housing a little.
Raised exhaust to 103 and slightly widened it, almost 60% of the bore.

Guess I’m just a rookie and it’s one less thing for me to learn. I don’t necessarily think filling the ports is a bad practice.

I can’t remember the transfer now, I didn’t touch them, I don’t have a tool for them and really don’t know much about directing them.