New, what is what?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

53trb

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello
I don't want to say I am new, been cutting for years just not getting the most out of my energy put in.

I have been cutting with a Stihl 026 for 10 years. I just picked up a Stihl 044 with a 20" Windsor bar (was supposed to be a 24" but got hosed on e-bay).

I have always relied on the Stihl dealer to take care of my chains, and what not. I am getting tired of that, I have been looking for a 24" bar for the 044 and realized I do not know how to do this.
Picth, kerf, full chisle, half chisle, Skip tooth... I do not know what these all mean, or when to use them.

I just ordered Douglas Dent's book, will all of this be in there?

I cut tree's, wood to heat my house, I normally do not fell trees, just buck them then they are on the ground (Lots of friends always have free wood offers).

The 044 is a much larger saw, and all I have been reading is horror stories about kick back and what not. Last thing I want to do is hurt myself just trying to save money heating the house.

I have never had a problem, or close call with the 026 and I would like to keep it that way with the 044. I have all my gear and I use it every time. I stay on the ground, (I would like to climb and cut but better judgement (my wife) keeps me out of the trees)

Any help or suggestions on a 24" bar chain combo for the 044 is appreciated. I like the Windsor bar I currently have (speed tip), but am open to Oregon, Stihl (expensive)

I cut in Michigan, and try to stick with hardwoods, maple, oak, cherry, ash Lots of standing dead ash. Would I use a Skip tooth chain on pine if I were to ever cut it?

Lots of ? I know

Thanks
Todd