Newcomer looking for cheapest option

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rkwelp

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all, I just found this forum and it is exactly what I have been looking for. I am a long time woodworker who has been thinking of a way to mill my own wood for a long time. I've seen the chainsaw mills before and I believe this to be my best option. My question is this. I have fallen on some hard times lately, so my funding is very limited. I have access to plenty of timber as my in-laws own quite a bit of property here in Missouri with a lot of oak, hickory, and some black walnut(my favorite). In a small mill which one do you think would be my best option to start out with, with a very small budget? Or better yet are ther plans out ther to make my own mill very, very cheap? All the help I can get will be very appreciated.

Hi all, I just found this forum and it is exactly what I have been looking for. I am a long time woodworker who has been thinking of a way to mill my own wood for a long time. I've seen the chainsaw mills before and I believe this to be my best option. My question is this. I have fallen on some hard times lately, so my funding is very limited. I have access to plenty of timber as my in-laws own quite a bit of property here in Missouri with a lot of oak, hickory, and some black walnut(my favorite). In a small mill which one do you think would be my best option to start out with, with a very small budget? Or better yet are ther plans out ther to make my own mill very, very cheap? All the help I can get will be very appreciated.

Tell us what kind of chainsaw you have at present if any, and what is the smallest size log you are willing to accept with this mill, and you will get some answers for your situation.