Potentially picking up a Stihl 038 Magnum II tomorrow

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WickhamWood

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I am going to look at (and more than likely purchase) a Stihl 038 Magnum II in the morning. I am still relatively new to Stihl saws. The largest saw I have currently is a 039 I recently purchased. Is there anything in particular I should be cautious of with the 038 model? It looks like it is in fair condition, it only has a 20" bar so hopefully it has not been worked to death. They are only asking $250 which seems like a good price to me, but again my knowledge is limited. I will include a picture from the listing. Any advice is appreciated! Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• Stihl 038 Magnum II.jpg
    Stihl 038 Magnum II.jpg
    204.3 KB · Views: 33
Choke flap can be slightly dodgy. It's choked off the air filter and not through the carb. Make sure it starts fine. Other than that, one word.. TANK.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Choke flap can be slightly dodgy. It's choked off the air filter and not through the carb. Make sure it starts fine. Other than that, one word.. TANK.

Make sure the whole switch assy is in good shape that works the choke and on/off/high idle switch.

Check AV rubber (~ 30 years old).

If he'll let you pull muffler and take a look at P/C. Check to see that P/C is OEM. Muffler should be dual port (some PNW saws were triple)

Also be aware that a "magnum II" cover will fit on any 038. The magnum should have a Bing carburator .

I read as many posts on here about the 038 as I could find, most of them sounded like it was a sturdy saw. The only negative I could find was, when compared to a 044, most of the guys preferred the 044 to the 038. Thank you for the information.

Make sure the whole switch assy is in good shape that works the choke and on/off/high idle switch.