Sharpening, necessary or just picky?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I can tell you it sure wasnt an enjoyable experience and made me question my decision to stop paying someone else to do it for me. I had 3 chains left for my 440 and did them going the right direction last night. It went much better. I guess we all have that dumb ass moment sooner or later.
Do square. Your were headed in the right direction for that

I hand sharpen and use them type chains.
I mostly use them type chains for clearing fence rows and cutting close to the ground suing a Poulan, instead of my good saws..
No great loss when you ruin one that is on it's last leg and mostly already worn out.

I learn something everyday and Ive Been cutting for 40 years. One thing I do know is I’ll keep each tooth about the same length because its harder on the bar if you don’t. A sharp file, good light and touch the chain up every tank of gas. A couple strokes every tank will be easier on your saw and takes less time. Pay attention to the very top of the cutter when the file is in it. Th file needs o sharpen all the way to the top. That’s one of the most common problems I see.

Hand filed today. Doubt it was ever on my grinder. Nothing is even and it cuts straight.View attachment 1121095
That's pretty impressive. Some cutters have half their life left, and others are almost at the end of theirs. I'm sure there's a reason behind it. I just haven't seen a chain with that much variation in the cutters before.

That's pretty impressive. Some cutters have half their life left, and others are almost at the end of theirs. I'm sure there's a reason behind it. I just haven't seen a chain with that much variation in the cutters before.
Wire fence will do that and stones in the bark. The 72dl loops could care less when bucking.

☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️ THIS!!!!