So do I need a piston, jug, or just rings?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
I recently picked up a Stihl 009 16" on Craigslist for $60. It's in reasonably good shape but stumbles when cutting.

I brought it to the local Stihl dealer, who replaced the plug & air filter and tried to adjust the carb but said he couldn't make it run any better. They did a compression test and it's at 120 psi against a spec of 150 psi. I've never worked on a 2-cycle, so thought this would be a good opportunity to learn - but before I buy any parts I thought I'd try to diagnose the problem.

I've pulled it apart and have attached photos of the cylinder & piston. Other than some carbon buildup on the piston I don't see any major issues, but since I'm no expert I thought I'd run it by the experts here. Could the carbon buildup on the top of the piston cause the stumbling? I guess it would change the compression ratio, and I'd guess the saw was run too rich.

The funny little thing in the lower left corner of the next to last photo is the LED light I used to light up the cylinder.

So does anyone have any ideas? I'd appreciate any thoughts.

Thanks.

CIMG4650.jpg

CIMG4651.jpg

CIMG4653.jpg

CIMG4654.jpg

CIMG4655.jpg

CIMG4659.jpg

CIMG4661.jpg

can you feel anything with your fingernail or finger higher then the top of the exhaust port inside the cylinder???
it looks like there are some grooves, but if you can't feel them, they don't count.

she has some hours on it, evidenced by the wearing of the machine marks on the piston.

the rings are a little tired, and you can see burned oil between the rings on the side of the piston to show that.

if you can't feel the grooves, i would consider a piston and rings, get it honed, and run it.