TN/NC wilderness climb

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2DTop

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm looking for a partner or two to climb a large (15'9" CBH) hemlock along the TN/NC border. Total 3-4 miles walking. Other trees as well. No time frame on this.
Chuck

PM sent. I'm pretty close to the park so let me know when you are getting over this way. I've got a few friends who may be interested too.

I hooked up with 2DTop and David "Hunabku" Obi from another tree site. We got together last weekend and climbed this hemlock. Me and 2DTop climbed the hemlock and Hunabku climbed a large, nearby cherry tree. This was my first rec climb. I've been climbing for 10 years now and have never done it recreationaly. I had alot of fun, I found it to be very relaxing mostly because I didn't have to worry about a time clock or keeping things going to get a job done. I didn't quite go to the top. 2DTop did go to the top. He has a bigger set than me. The top was dead but it still seemed pretty solid. Here's a few pics.
Here is 2DTop on his way up.
attachment.php

attachment.php

We already climbed this hemlock. Tomorrow I'm going to scout some big trees in a remote area of the smokies. I should be able to locate some great specimens to climb. I will go back to climb them in a few weeks or so. Let me know if you would like to go in a few weeks.

sure I have never climbed big trees like that before. All my climbing has be on rock. I would love to give it a try. What gear are you using in the climb? Oh how tall was that tree?

Last edited:
sure I have never climbed big trees like that before. All my climbing has be on rock. I would live to give it a try. What gear are you using in the climb? Oh how tall was that tree?