To Use Or Not To Use....

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dwinch53

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
:help: I am hooking up my firechief furnace in my basement...i am undecided if i want to use a stove pipe DAMPER....I am using heat fab black pipe which is 22 gauge and the furnace is air tight...i know the damper will come in handy in case of a chimney fire.(don't plan on that) besides that i believe the furnace will work well without one...some folk say it will cut down on your draft even though it is open and will build up more creosote...can it be placed in a 45 degree pipe? OK lets here your expert opinons...THANX Dan:popcorn:

I'm no chimney expert, so I dont know about the damper on a 45, but I put one on my firechief. My chimney is around 26' and without a damper, the furnace burns wood way faster than I like. Each chimney situation is different, and dampers are inexpensive. So the worst you could do is install one and keep it open. I keep my damper 3/4 closed when burning. Chances are if you have one you will use it. Wood furnaces are not known for being nice to the wood pile. Good luck

It is one more way to slow down the burn. I don't see it making more heat with the damper. I do think it might give longer burn times at the expense of less output per hour. It's a trade off.

I'm not the least bit familiar with the firechief furnace. If you added it and had it shut down on the top and forgot, would you get the heat you needed on a cold night? Would you get smoke spllage from the stove because the damper wouldn't allow the flow needed to support the incoming air? Mine stays open 99.9% of the time. I control the heat with the draft, not the damper.