026 question & hello from Aus!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dwain

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
HELLO/INTRO: Hello there! I'm a newbie to the site and a little green with chainsaws too. BUT I'm making up for lost time, as I've seriously caught the chainsaw bug. As I review tools over here, I already have a couple of small ones I didn't have to buy (Echo 352 and Dewalt 60V max). But I'm feeling the need to more power (am I sounding familiar here?). My dad recently gave me his old Husqy 55, which is pretty sweet. I've replaced the broken chain break and put new filters in. Just gotta do a little tuning now to get it to idle for more than a minute or two. Now I've also bought a second hand Stihl MS 026, which I'm loving. At some point soon I'm planning to buy something bigger (7900 or 462 / 661 or the like).

026 QUESTION:
I bought it second hand and it had recently been serviced. So it runs and cuts beautifully. BUT I haven't been getting much oil to the bar. My dad and I checked the bar was clean and the intake filter looked good too. We then tore it down to the oil pump and determined that it looked to be in good nick. We ran the saw with no clutch/sprocket attached, and could see PLENTY of oil coming out of the pump outlet. There appeared to be no leaks in the pumps outlet hose, but there did appear to be oil coming out at the pump intake 'boot?'. When the saw is assembled it usually (but not always) has heaps of oil dropping out the bottom cover, but very little going to the bar/chain.

My dad and I think that the seal at the pumps inlet is not good and is sucking in air and leaking oil. There's certainly lots of air bubbles coming through the oil outlet slot. Does this sound right? If so, what is my best course of action do you think?

Thanks for reading! :D