1st Tree Removal Project help - Pics

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jack Smith

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So, I've received some great help figuring out my new chainsaw. I am very grateful for this. The timing is excellent because a tree came down in the yard and I'll need to clear it. I'm looking for advice because I've never done this before.

A quick search for tips let me learn about "tension" and "pressure" sides of a tree, as well as relief cuts. I'm wondering what my steps should be with this tree, however.

Where would you start? Or, better yet, where should I, as a total beginner, start? For safety I currently have quality ear muffs/protectors, gloves, and a full face polycarbonate shield.

p.s. I think this tree is actually bigger than it looks.

IMG_20180309_141958483_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180309_142011415_HDR.jpg IMG_20180309_142027258_HDR.jpg

Top cut tho the trunk slowly as shown the cut should open and the tree settle to the ground, oh the stump may also fold back.

Be in place you can move away as canopy it may roll or trunk release & buck up.

once its down begin to dock off all limbs working from bottom to tree top do hand full move them away & then continue while watching for tension and jam,, have an axe wedge and crow bar lever to help you when it does & dont go yankin hard on ya saw you'll bust the handle and mounts.

If you can get some chain saw chaps for leg protection id feel much better about your safety as this is a classic 1st time potential for harm.

IMG_20180309_141958483_HDR (1).jpg

Thanks. I appreciate the tips. I'll need to wait a bit before I tackle this tree because there is a huge puddle on the opposite side. This might give me plenty of time to find an old pair of chaps. I have seen them on ebay recently.