225 acre hardwood lot worth ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toddburton

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys so I am from nova Scotia Cape Breton, recently bought 225 acres of with my home and garage on it , my father found a good bit of birds eye maple , there maybe some curley maple as well the lot over from me had some he had sold.

It's mostly oak , ask , rock maple some birds eye etc etc ...mature trees it's never been cut its on a slight mountain incline but I have a bulldozed road up it!

So I looked further into it and passed my number alot I got a call from a guy in maine which offered to come get some wood and asked if he could send a good crew down....I'm not experienced with this but from my research a acre will usually yield u 20-25 cord depending on the wood size ....what would good price on 50 acre section be ? Or same a truck load I'm trying to get some numbers together for when he makes his offer, once I said it was never cut before he go real interested .

Thank in advance guys

If it's never been cut before, I'd be inclined to get a timber cruiser to take a walk through your land with you so you can understand what u have and the value of the woods. Would hate to see someone take advantage of you and you lose out on what could be a valuable commodity. whereabouts on the island, roughly speaking ?

I live directly on the Cabot trail furthest north u can come basically , the land is in big interval it is called and the closest town is Cape north!

I don't want to be taken advantage of by any means I've seen 700-1200 per truck load but that wasn't for birdeye or curley maple