288XP Blew Up - Help!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pattyrobs

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to this. My brother - certified arborist, had a 288XP sitting around for too long (wanting to upgrade to a 395) and gave it to me to help clear a lot for a new shop I'm building. I had the thing running for about 20 minutes and it blew up. It needs alot of work. I imagine I'm going to dump more money into it then it is worth. But running it even for a short period of time, made me realize the seat of the pants feeling it gave me. I need to rebuild this thing to feel that again.

Here's a list of what she needs:
- crank
- crank case half gasket
- crank bearings
- base gasket
- exhaust gasket
- top end kit
- spark plug
- motor mount (front left)
- fly wheel
- wrist pin bearing

I don't even know where to begin or where to look. Looks like there are alot of parts on ebay? Anything on there reputable? I called Saw Salvage and he is seeing what he can put together. In the meantime, I figured I would try here. Located in Ontario, Canada.

Thanks!

Define "blew up"?

With that list of repair parts, be easier to save the plastics, carb, front handle, spurs and muffler, then go buy another 288 and you will have some parts.
Wait and try to find a parts saw 181, 281, or 288, one with a busted tank/rear handle or something that has not damaged the motor too much that you can swap bits over to your left overs?

how are u sure that it needs crank, bearings and complete top end? all the other parts on your list are easy enough to find. youll typicaly be better off with cleaning up the oem top end, unless it ate a lot of stuff the bottom end they are usually useable.