3" cyl splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brisawyer

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Does anyone have experience with a splitter with a 3"cyl? I was thinking of building one with a 3 and a 16 gpm pump something fast for the easyer wood. I have most of the parts.I have a splitter with a 6"ram for the tough stuff its a tad slow.

I have no experience but I too have thought about it. Knowing that most woods breaks fairly easy I have to believe it would work well. Your average split pressure will be higher but still well under 1000lbs. IMO. I would also think that splitting the stringy stuff where your full strokin all the time ( haha no pum intended) is where the 3" will shine. With a setup like that you would be right there with the SS.

Looks like it would have about a 5 sec cycle time. Looked at speeding up the big splitter bigger pump lines ect. Cheaper to build a smaller faster for the easy stuff. May be a good project for cold weather.

Last edited:
Looks like it would have about a 5 sec cycle time. Looked at speeding up the big splitter bigger pump lines ect. Cheaper to build a smaller faster for the easy stuff. May be a good project for cold weather.

I'm sure a 3" piston would get me by too, with a 2" shaft for a fast backstroke.

I rarely see 1000 psi on my 4"
Ken

I made one many moons ago that had a 3" cyl that had a 2½" rod, it was off of a small rough terrain crane and man did that thing scream with a 16 gpm pump and a 6 horse Kubota Diesel engine, it was about the same speed as a super split but it bogged the engine down on the return stroke to the point of it almost stalling, didn't have #### for splitting power but it was not built for crotches it was built for putting wood in the pile and it did a damn fine job of it:greenchainsaw: