A Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WidowMaker

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
for you trained welders or welders by trade..

Is there any reason one should not use shielding gas with shielded core wire???

TIA

for you trained welders or welders by trade..

Is there any reason one should not use shielding gas with shielded core wire???

TIA

Never heard of shielded core wire, I assume you mean flux core wire. You can use both, but why would you want to? Flux core was developed for uses where gas could not be used, namely windy conditions where the gas shield would blow away and contaminate the weld. It provides all the shield that you need, to add gas would be pointless and will not provide any better welds.
You aint going to hurt anything, but it is an unecessary expense.
Why are you wanting to run both?

Yes, Avalancher, I mis-spoke I do mean flux core wire. After more research I have come to the same conclusions you have stated. I could, but to no advantage.

I like the smoother, spatter free appearance of the gas shield welds, I now understand that the flux in the wire is what causes the spatter and smokey appearance of gasless welds.
Thanks for your spot on reply... :smoking:

If you are having a problem with excessive spatter with flux core wire, it may help to try different brands of wire. Some of the junk stuff sold at the big box store are some of the worst. Do a little experimenting with different brands, and make sure your stuff that you are welding on is clean. A good scrub with a stainless steel brush will often help with the spatter.
but, as you have found out,if you are in a position to use gas, you can often get a better weld, and it increases your welding capability.Flux core doent allow you to weld the real thin stuff, so gas in my opinion is the way to go.