advice on climbing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charlieallen78

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
my first post, hi everyone. I have been climbing for about 7 months on the "traditional system" and am looking to advance to using a more up to date method. I was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers on kit . I have been looking at the A.R.T rope guide and would like to know peoples opinions on the best friction hitch to use. Basically any advice on climbing in general would be appreciated, ( I'm a Brit so excuse my ignorance of terminoligy!!!) thanks

climbing

hi i have been climbing for 3.1/2 years and the best system for me is a komet butterfly harness with a split tail with a Blake's hitch, you can adjust the length, long for climbing up and shorten it for working out on limbs, i also have positioning strop witch go's from (d-ring to d-ring) with a pulley and a v.t tress so you can adjust it with one hand, my advice is keep it simple don't over load you harness with gear you dont need. m.p

Hi charlieallen78, welcome to the site. I am sure lots of folks will chime in on what is best. I think Sherrill (one of the sponsors here) sells a complete kit with everything you need.

I'm enjoying learning how to climb using a Knut hitch after climbing for a year on a Blakes. Any of the popular advanced hitches will have similar qualities, it's a matter of playing around with different configurations and finding what works best for you. This is an excellent article about climbing hitches and includes the so-called advanced hitches, good stuff to experiment with to add to your climbing skills:
Climbing hitches

And of course you have to see what Tom Dunlap has to say about SRT for arborists:
Intro to SRT

thanks