anyone else quit cutting due to the heat??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mowingman

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Am I a wimp, or is it just too darn hot to fool with firewood? We have had 17 days in a row of 100 degree or higher temps. I have a trailer loaded with 4 cords of split oak that have been on the trailer 4 weeks, and can just not talk myself into unloading it. This is my first year in the business, and while I want to get stocked up for fall sales, I am not working in this heat. It was 84 degrees at daylight this morning.
Do I need to toughen up, or do most of you guys take a break from this during the heat of the summer??
Jeff

in the spring [when i normally get my annual customers stocked up ] i couldnt get any log length firewood to process due to extremely muddy conditions in the woods . my usual comfort zone is 50 degrees max for doing firewood ,but due to the backlog of orders i have been forced to work above my zone ,now i use 70 as the quitting temp ,work for an hour or so in the a.m. then hit the shower before turning wrenches for a livin , so i guess i am a bigger baby than you lol , i am getting used to seeing all those sweat stains all over the top of the saws , and wife is complaining about the 2 soaked tee shirts that get tossed on the washer each day . 4 cords to deliver then i am caught up to april "11 yeah !!! firewood in july who woulda thunk it ?? cheers jk

Am I a wimp, or is it just too darn hot to fool with firewood? We have had 17 days in a row of 100 degree or higher temps. I have a trailer loaded with 4 cords of split oak that have been on the trailer 4 weeks, and can just not talk myself into unloading it. This is my first year in the business, and while I want to get stocked up for fall sales, I am not working in this heat. It was 84 degrees at daylight this morning.